Happy Biggie Day!

Hola Bloggies! My name is Becca and I will be sharing with you all of the new music that comes across my computer screen, a ton of suggestions, some music swapping and a few main stream singles that are just too catchy. Some will be new, some will be old and some will be just plain obscure. Bottom line is that I will be posting music related reviews, suggestions and obsessions every Wednesday.

“I’m blowin’ up like you thought I would . Call the crib, same number, same hood . It’s all good…”

Let’s get our first Wipe started by celebrating #Biggieday. Today commemorates the 14 year anniversary of the passing of the great Notorious B.I.G. Mr. Biggie Smalls not only gave us hits like “Hypnotized” and “Juicy” but he helped usher a new era of East Coast hip hop that is prevalent to this day. He is still remembered as a Hip Hop legend and his records are immortalized by his listeners around the world.

I was only 13 when Biggie passed but remember watching hypnotized on MTV and wishing I was old enough to be at a bar listening to this song. But my teenage alcoholic tendencies didn’t stop me from dancing around my room screaming ” Biggie Biggie Biggie can’t you see? sometimes your words just Hypnotize me” and mumbling what I thought were the rest of the lyrics.

“…..I can fill ya wit real millionaire shit. Escargot, my car go, one sixty, swiftly. Wreck it buy a new one
Your crew run run run, your crew run run…””

Now, let’s remember this Hip Hop giant not because of his feuds with 2pac but as the man who after 14 years of being gone can still make everyone on the dance floor dance like it’s 1997.

